Beaver Scouts are aged between six to eight years old.

We have two Beaver colonies within our group. Sherwood Colony meets every Wednesday evening between 5:15pm and 6:15pm and Delamere Colony meets every Thursday evening between 5:00pm and 6:00pm.

Beaver Scouts get a chance to try a wide range of different activities as well as going on trips, days out, and on sleepovers. The main aims of the section are to encourage self-control, alertness and self confidence.

During investiture, a Beaver Scout will be asked to make the Beaver Scout promise:

The Beaver Scout Promise
I promise to do my best

To be kind and helpful
And to love God.

Once a Beaver Scout is invested, they will take part in a Balanced Programme which consists of six challenge awards including, My World Challenge, My Skills Challenge, My Outdoors Challenge, My Adventure Challenge, Teamwork Challenge and Personal Challenge.

Beaver Scouts also have the opportunity of earning 23 activity badges which includes badges in Cooking, Gardening, Global Issues and many more! There are also 15 staged activity badges which are awarded depending on the level of skill a Beaver Scout has earned.

The Chief Scout’s Bronze Award is the highest award in the Beaver section and is awarded once all the challenge awards and a selection of activity badges have been achieved.


If you would like your child to join one of our Beaver Colonies then please get in touch by using our contact page.